The winner of the 2022 Alice Prize for Illustrated Books has been introduced

The $25,000 Alice Prize might be awarded to Alphawood on Monday, October twenty fourth within the Uncommon E book Room on the Strand E book Retailer in New York. Alice is ten years previous this 12 months. For the reason that prize was launched on the Morgan Library in 2013, $340,000 has been awarded to Alice recipients and books chosen for Alice.

Joan Okay. Davidson, founder and president of Moreover and the Alice, mentioned: “Alice acknowledges and encourages the well-made image e-book, the place phrases and pictures have equal weight. The illustrations illuminate, illuminate, improve, and are important to the e-book’s aspiration and achievement. In Rebuilding GarrickThe Alice jury has acknowledged a publication that has achieved all of the ambitions that outline Alice and ends in a really exemplary e-book”.

Asserting the award, Chirag G. Badlani, Government Director, Alphawood Basis mentioned, “I’m delighted Rebuilding Garrick It has obtained this well-earned recognition from the Alice Prize jury. Alice John Vinci, Tim Samuelson, Eric Nordstrom and Chris Ware to present the general public a better appreciation of Adler & Sullivan’s “Misplaced Masterpiece” is a testomony to the unimaginable effort of John Vinci, Tim Samuelson, Eric Nordstrom and Chris Ware, each visually beautiful via the e-book and associated exhibition. The Garrick Theater at 659 Wrightwood in Chicago. We’re proud to have served as a writer.’


Chair: Ian Wardropper, Director of the Frick Assortment

President Emeritus: Jock Reynolds, former director of the Yale College Artwork Gallery

RO Blechman, Illustrator

Teresa A. Carbone, Director, American Artwork Program, Henry Luce Basis

David R. Godine, Writer

William P. Kelly, Andrew W. Mellon Director Emeritus, Analysis Libraries, New York Public Library

Max Rudin, President and Writer, Library of America

Pauline Willis, director and director of the American Federation of the Arts


Since 2013 there have been 30 publications shortlisted for the Alice Prize, every receiving $5,000.

Pioneer Works Artwork Basis (Brooklyn, NY). Pòtoprens: City Artists of Port-au-Prince. Edited by Leah Gordon and Joshua Jelly-Schapiro and designed by Daniel Kent and Jesse Johanning. Revealed by Pioneer Works Press in 2022.

Cleveland Museum of Artwork (Cleveland, OH). Non-public lives: residence and household amongst sailors, Paris, 1889-1900. By Mary Weaver Chapin and Heather Lemonedes Brown and designed by Tom Barnard. Revealed by the Cleveland Museum of Artwork in 2021.

Artwork Institute of Chicago (Chicago, IL). c/o Ray Johnson. Edited by Caitlin Haskell with Jordan Carter and designed by Irma Growth. Revealed by the Artwork Institute of Chicago in 2021.

Museum of Trendy Artwork (New York, NY). Sophie Taeuber-Arp: Vibrant abstraction. Edited by Anne Umland and Walburga Krupp with Charlotte Healy and designed by Mark Nelson/McCall Associates. Revealed by The Museum of Trendy Artwork, New York and Kunstmuseum Basel in 2021.

About the author


Leave a Comment